Texas State University System Logo

2015 News Releases

Board of Regents Re-Elects Garza as Chairman, Salazar as Vice Chairman
November 13, 2015
The Board of Regents of the Texas State University System today re-elected Dr. Jaime R. Garza of San Antonio as chairman of the board and Rossanna Salazar of Austin as vice chairman. The unanimous vote occurred during the board's quarterly meeting on the campus of Texas State University.

Board of Regents Recognizes Professor, Student for Excellence
November 13, 2015
During its quarterly meeting on the campus of Texas State University today, the Board of Regents recognized Dr. Donald W. Olsen, a professor at Texas State University, and Keeley Townley-Smith, a student at Lamar University, for outstanding achievement in teaching and academics.

Dr. John Hayek Hired As Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
November 10, 2015
Texas State University System Chancellor Brian McCall, Ph.D., has announced the hiring of Dr. John Hayek as the system’s vice chancellor for academic affairs, effective December 1, 2015. Hayek will succeed Dr. Perry Moore, who is retiring as the system’s chief academic affairs officer at the end of the year.ate

TSUS Joins Modern States Educational Alliance's 'Freshman Year for Free' Program
September 10, 2015
The Texas State University System has announced a partnership with the not-for-profit Modern States Education Alliance that could help students earn up to one full year of college credit tuition-free, reducing the cost of a degree by up to 25 percent. TSUS is the first public university system in Texas to partner with Modern States’ ‘Freshman Year for Free’ program.

Enrollment at TSUS Component Institutions Reaches All-Time High
September 9, 2015
Preliminary headcount enrollment at the Texas State University System’s eight component institutions reached an all-time high of 82,965 this fall, an increase of more than 1,600 students, or two percent, since last fall. Over the past five years, TSUS institutions have added more than 7,700 students, an increase of 10 percent.

Sam Houston State University's Spencer Copeland Appointed TSUS Student Regent
July 2, 2015
Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Spencer Copeland, a graduate student at Sam Houston State University, to a one-year term as student regent for the Texas State University System. Copeland is one of 11 student representatives appointed by the governor to serve as non-voting members of the governing boards of Texas public universities, university systems and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Chancellor McCall: 84th Legislative Session a Boon for Texas College Students
Published June 1, 2015, in The Texas Tribune 
Members of the Texas Legislature can return home this week confident that the votes they cast during the 84th Legislative Session will result in a more educated, enlightened and workforce-ready Texas.

TSUS Board of Regents Approves Purchase of O. Henry Hall from UT System
May 21, 2015
The Board of Regents of the Texas State University System today approved the purchase of O. Henry Hall, a historic landmark in downtown Austin, from The University of Texas System. The 134-year-old building, which once served as a federal courthouse and post office, was transferred to the UT System by the federal government in 1968.

Governor Abbott Appoints Three to TSUS Board of Regents
April 29, 2015
Governor Greg Abbott today appointed Veronica Muzquiz Edwards of San Antonio, Alan L. Tinsley of Madisonville and reappointed David Montagne of Beaumont to the Texas State University System Board of Regents for terms to expire on February 1, 2021. These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.

Texas State University System Saves $27.4 Million in Refinancing Transaction
March 2, 2015
Taking advantage of historically low interest rates, the Texas State University System has refinanced a portion of its outstanding debt, saving the system more than $27 million in debt service costs over the next 20 years.

Texas State's Joe Meyer named TSUS Regents' Staff Member for 2015
February 20, 2015
Joe Meyer, director of the Office of Institutional Research at Texas State University, has been selected for the Texas State University System (TSUS) Regents’ Staff Member Award for 2015.