Texas State University System Logo

foundation logo

The Texas State University System Foundation, Inc., was established in 1977 by the Board of Regents of the Texas State University System to assist TSUS with gaining private financial support and help the component institutions pursue additional education-related activities and outreach. The Foundation is a private, nonprofit corporation that exists solely for the benefit of the Texas State University System. The Foundation has an independent board of directors that governs the Foundation's activities and manages Foundation funds.

The Foundation, established the Grow Your Own Scholarship Program in 2005 to increase faculty diversity and provide mentoring models for students at the eight component institutions. Through this program, individuals from groups underrepresented on the faculty receive financial assistance to complete their doctoral degrees from accredited universities. While completing the doctorate, students are given an opportunity to work or teach at the sponsoring Texas State University System component institution. 

Additionally, the Foundation (in cooperation with the Texas State University System Board of Regents) has created the Regents’ Professor Award, the System’s highest faculty award. This honor is conferred on professors who demonstrate excellence and exemplary achievement in the areas of teaching, research and publication, and service. As of Spring 2012, the Foundation has conferred 17 Regents’ Professors Awards.

The Foundation also awards scholarships to students in various disciplines throughout the System as directed by individual donors.


Charlie Amato, Chairman
Donna N. Williams
William F. Scott
Dan Matheson
James Gaertner
Alan Dreeben
Ron Mitchell
Cletus Bianchi (Advisory)


Pat Tibbetts, Executive Director
The Texas State University System Foundation
208 E. 10th Street, Suite 600
Austin, Texas 78701-2407

Phone: (512) 463-1808
FAX: (512) 463-1816

foundation join