Skip to Content

News Release

TSUS Foundation Names 2019 Regents' Award Recipients (8/23/19)

(AUSTIN) – The Texas State University System Foundation today announced 2019 recipients of the System’s four Regents’ Awards, which recognize outstanding faculty, staff, and students from TSUS’s seven member institutions. The recipients are:

Regents' Professor Award
William Brittain, Ph.D., Professor of Chemistry - Texas State University
Scott Chapman, Ph.D., Professor of Mathematics - Sam Houston State University
Xuejun Fan, Ph.D., Professor of Mechanical Engineering - Lamar University
James Westgate, Ph.D., Professor of Earth and Space Sciences - Lamar University

Regents' Student Scholar Award
Ms. Heather Martin, Senior Psychology Major - Texas State University

Regents' Teacher Award
Cynthia I. Gonzales, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Music - Texas State University
Matthew McClure, Ph.D., Professor of Biology - Lamar State College Orange
Mayumi Moriuchi, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer of World Languages - Texas State University

Regents' Staff Excellence Award
Carol Dochen, Ph.D., Director of the Student Learning Assistance Center - Texas State University
Gina Simar, Dean of Health, Workforce and Technical Education - Lamar State College Orange

This year's Regents’ Professor and Regents’ Student Scholar Award recipients will be formally recognized during the Nov. 15, 2019, Board of Regents meeting at Sam Houston State University. Regents’ Teacher and Regents’ Staff Excellence Award recipients will be recognized during the Feb. 14, 2020, meeting at Texas State University.

The Texas State University System Foundation, Inc., is a public nonprofit corporation that provides private financial support to the System and its member institutions. Established by the Board of Regents in 1977, the Foundation is governed by an independent board of directors and provides funding for an array of programs across the System.