Skip to Content

News Release

TSUS Board of Regents Elects Williams Chair, Mitchell Vice Chair (11/16/12)

(HUNTSVILLE) - The Texas State University System Board of Regents today elected Donna N. Williams of Arlington as chairman of the board for the 2012-13 term. Williams was elected during the board's quarterly meeting on the campus of Sam Houston State University in Huntsville.

Williams was first appointed to the Board of Regents by Governor Rick Perry in 2008 and reappointed in 2011. She previously served as vice chairman of the Board of Regents and currently chairs the board's Finance and Audit Committee and Information Technology Task Force.

Williams is a vice president and program manager for Parsons Government Services, a subsidiary of the Parsons Corporation, a global engineering and construction leader in facilities, advanced technology, and management processes. She holds a bachelor of science in mechanical engineering from Prairie View A&M University.

The Board of Regents also appointed Ron Mitchell as vice chairman of the board. Mitchell is manager and vice chairman of Horseshoe Bay Resort Enterprise and a director and vice chairman both in the Horseshoe Bay Resort and Members Club, Inc., and in the Horseshoe Bay Development Company, Inc. Mitchell also serves as president of Summit Rock Communities. He holds other director and officer positions in the Horseshoe Bay area. He has worked in executive capacities with Horseshoe Bay Resort, Ltd., since 1982 and has played a major role in the development of Horseshoe Bay, and in the resort's and community's growth and success.

Mitchell was first appointed to the Board of Regents in 2009. He has served as a member of the board's planning and construction committee and as chairman of The Texas State University System's branding initiative.

The Texas State University System Board of Regents is the governing body for Texas’ first university system, which comprises eight institutions: Lamar University, Sam Houston State University, Texas State University, Sul Ross State University, Lamar Institute of Technology, Lamar State College-Orange, Lamar State College-Port Arthur and Sul Ross State University Rio Grande College. The chair and vice chair serve one-year terms.