Skip to Content



The Board of Regents of The Texas State University System is composed of nine members appointed by the Governor of Texas with the advice and consent of the State Senate. Board members are appointed to serve six-year terms expiring February 1 of odd-numbered years, with three members being appointed biennially.

On or after February 1 of each year, the Governor selects a non-voting student regent to serve a one-year term. The student regent has the same powers and duties as members of the Board of Regents, including the right to participate in meetings of the Board, except that he or she may not: a) vote on any matter before the Board; b) make or second any motion before the Board; c) be counted in determining whether a quorum exists; or, d) be counted in determining the outcome of any vote before the Board.

The Board of Regents of The Texas State University System governs the following Components:

3.1 Comprehensive Universities:

3.11   Lamar University in Beaumont;

3.12  Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, including a Multi-Institution Teaching Center (“MITC”) at the Woodlands and a College of Medicine in Conroe;

3.13   Sul Ross State University in Alpine, Del Rio, Eagle Pass and Uvalde;

3.14   Texas State University, including the Round Rock Higher Education Center;

3.2 Two-year Colleges and Institutes:

3.21   Lamar Institute of Technology in Beaumont;

3.22   Lamar State College-Orange; and,

3.23   Lamar State College-Port Arthur.