Skip to Content

About TSUS

The Texas State University System, founded in 1911, is the first higher education system established in Texas. Created to consolidate the support and management of state teacher colleges, the System has evolved into a network of higher education institutions stretching from the Texas–Louisiana border to the Big Bend region of west Texas.

Today, seven member institutions offer a broad range of academic and career opportunities. Throughout the System, faculty and staff are preparing students to work in and contribute to our global society.

The Texas State University System is governed by a nine-member Board of Regents appointed by the governor. In addition, a nonvoting student regent is appointed annually to the board. The administration, which is headed by a board-appointed chancellor, is based in Austin, where it provides support to the System member institutions and state government.

Frequently Asked Questions