Skip to Content

News Release

TSUS Board of Regents Recognizes 2021 Regents' Teacher Award Winners (2/18/22)

(BEAUMONT) - The Texas State University System Board of Regents today formally recognized faculty members from Sam Houston State University and Texas State University with the Regents’ Teacher Award. Regents' Teachers are selected based on their outstanding performance as educators, contributions to the development of courses, and use of innovative teaching methods, among other criteria.

Regents’ Teacher Award recipients are nominated by their respective institution presidents, evaluated by a committee of previous award winners, and selected by the TSUS Foundation Board of Directors. Regents’ Teacher Award winners for 2021 are:

•   Dr. C. Renee James, Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Sam Houston State University

•   Dr. Ting Liu, Professor in the Department of Health and Human Performance at Texas State University

Recipients receive a $5,000 cash award, commemorative medallion, board-approved resolution, and maintain the title of Regents' Teacher for the duration of their service within TSUS.