Skip to Content

News Release

Board of Regents Chair Duke Austin Appoints Advisory Committee for LIT Presidential Search

(AUSTIN) – Texas State University System Board of Regents Chairman Duke Austin has appointed an Advisory Search Committee to begin the search for the next president of Lamar Institute of Technology. Committee members, representing a cross-section of the Beaumont and LIT campus communities, are:

  • Stephen Lee - TSUS Regent (Committee Chair)
  • Sheila Faske - TSUS Regent and LIT Alumna
  • Sarah Ridley - Faculty Senate President
  • Kristina Mendoza - Instructor, Allied Health and Sciences
  • Tiffany Williams-Parker - Chair, Department of Technology
  • Ken Mason - Associate Dean of Instruction
  • Angela Clark - Manager of Online Learning and Staff Senate President
  • Kennedy Montaque - Student Government Association President
  • Rod Carroll - Vidor Police Chief and President of LIT Foundation Board
  • Nakisha Burns - Public and Government Affairs Manager, Exxon Mobil

The advisory committee will work with AGB Search, an executive search firm, to conduct a national search with the goal of identifying a small number of highly qualified candidates. These candidates will be invited to interview with Chancellor Brian McCall, and the sole finalist will be named by the chancellor and recommended for confirmation by the TSUS Board of Regents as early as July 2022.

LIT President Lonnie Howard announced last month that he will step down from his position in July 2022.