Skip to Content

News Release

TSUS Foundation Announces 2022 Regents' Award Winners (8/12/22)

(AUSTIN) – The Texas State University System Foundation today announced winners of the 2022 Regents’ Professor, Teacher, Staff Excellence, and Student Scholar Awards. The names of successful nominees were announced at the TSUS Board of Regents meeting in Austin.

Regents’ Professor Award, which honors professors who demonstrate a record of distinguished teaching, research or other scholarly activities, and service at the local, state, and national levels.

  • Jason Kwak, Ph.D. – Music, Texas State University
  • Jon Lasser, Ph.D. – School Psychology, Texas State University
  • William Lutterschmidt, Ph.D. – Biological Sciences, Sam Houston State University

Regents’ Student Scholar Award, which recognizes students for outstanding academic achievement and scholarship, leadership abilities, and contributions to the institution and their community.

  • Mateo Alvarez – Music Performance major, Sam Houston State University
  • Precious Orusa – Nursing major, Texas State University

Regents’ Teacher Award, which recognizes faculty for outstanding teaching, contributions to the development of courses, and the use of innovative teaching methods, among other criteria.

  • Michael Devlin, Ph.D. – Journalism and Mass Communication, Texas State University
  • David Lemke, Ph.D. – Biology, Texas State University

Regents’ Staff Excellence Award, which recognizes staff who excel in six areas: commitment to the university and its mission; job competency; collegiality; duration of service; community involvement; and exceptional achievement.

  • Ms. Rebecca McAnelley – Student Services, Lamar State College Orange

Regents’ Professor, Student Scholar, and Staff Excellence award winners will be formally recognized at the November 2022 Board of Regents meeting in San Marcos. Regents Teacher Award winners will receive formal recognition at the February 2023 Board of Regents meeting in Austin.