Skip to Content

News Release

Board of Regents Honors 2021 Regents' Award Recipients (11/19/21)

(HUNTSVILLE) - The Board of Regents of the Texas State University System formally recognized recipients of the Regents’ Professor, Staff, and Student Scholar awards for 2021. The board adopted resolutions honoring the award winners during its quarterly meeting this week on the campus of Sam Houston State University in Huntsville. Regents’ award winners for 2021 are:

Regents Professor Award (honoring professors with exemplary records of research, teaching, and service)

  • Helena Halmari, Ph.D., Professor of English - Sam Houston State University
  • Susan Morrison, Ph.D., Professor of English - Texas State University
  • Rodney Rohde, Ph.D., Professor of Clinical Laboratory Science - Texas State University

Regents’ Staff Excellence Award (honoring staff who demonstrate exceptional commitment to the university, job competency, collegiality, and community involvement)

  • Mary Ann Mendoza, Executive Assistant to the President - Texas State University

Regents’ Student Scholar Award (honoring students who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement, leadership ability, and contributions to the institution and community)

  • Taliah Belcher, Accounting/Finance Major - Lamar University
  • Lauren Green, Communication Studies Major - Texas State University
  • Carolyn Jess, Environmental Science Major - Sam Houston State University
  • Gabriela Olivas, English Major - Sul Ross State University

Regents’ Teacher Award winners for 2021 will be formally recognized at the board’s February 17-18, 2022, meeting at Lamar University in Beaumont.