Skip to Content

Internal Audit

The Office of Internal Audit is designed to provide positive support to the Board of Regents, Chancellor, System executive management, and component management in the effective discharge of their responsibilities. The system-wide internal audit function is coordinated through the System Chief Audit Executive, who reports directly to the Finance and Audit Committee of the Board of Regents. Component-housed  auditors are located in Alpine, Beaumont, Huntsville and San Marcos.

The mission of Internal Audit includes:

Providing the Board of Regents, Chancellor, Texas State University System executives, and component management with independent, objective evaluations regarding enterprise-wide risk management activities, internal controls, compliance, and governance processes.

Enhancing, system-wide, overall awareness of the importance of risk assessment, control, compliance, and governance processes.

Protecting organizational value by providing risk-based and objective assurance, advice, and insight.

Ensuring that the system-wide internal audit function complies with the Institute of Internal Auditors' "International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing" and the Texas Internal Auditing Act.

The Systemwide Compliance Program is conducted under the auspices of the audit function and is designed to promote and encourage, through objective assessments and other activities, behavior and compliance with applicable policies, laws, and rules governing higher education.

 

Audit Plans & Reports

Staff

Austin
 
Chief Audit Executive
(512) 463-1808
 
Charles Gregory, CISA, CGEIT
Director, Internal Audit
(512) 463-1808
charles.gregory@tsus.edu
 
Kelly Wintemute, MBA, CCEP
Compliance Officer,
Title IX Coordinator for System Administration
kelly.wintemute@tsus.edu

Alpine

Scott Cupp, CIA, CCA
Director
(432) 837-8303
scott.cupp@sulross.edu

Beaumont 

Ramona Stricklan, CIA, CFE
Director
(409) 880-1766
ramona.stricklan@lamar.edu
 
Marylyn Byrd, MBA, CPA
Senior Auditor
(409) 880-7659
marylyn.byrd@lamar.edu
 
Rick Cummings, CISA, CRISC, CCFE
Associate Director
 
Ranita Nunn, MBA, CPA, CIA
Senior IT Auditor
(409) 880-2362
ranita.nunn@lamar.edu
 
Huntsville

Kelly R. Blissett, MBA, CPA
Director
(936) 294-1973
krenee@shsu.edu
 
Amanda R. Dunbar, CIA, CFE
Senior Auditor
(936) 294-1583
ardunbar@shsu.edu
 
Patrick J. Nelsen, CISA
Senior IT Auditor
(936) 294-3987
patrick.nelsen@shsu.edu

San Marcos

Steve McGee, CPA, CIA, CFE
Director
(512) 245-8441
steve.mcgee@txstate.edu
 
Jill Craft, CIA, CFE
Auditor
(512) 245-8121
jc74@txstate.edu
 
Lisa Gendusa, CIA, CFE
Auditor
(512) 245-1978
lg36@txstate.edu
 
Cyndie Holmes, CISA
Senior IT Auditor
(512) 245-8716
cholmes@txstate.edu
 
Mike Miller, CIA, CGAP
Associate Director
(512) 245-8105
wmm30@txstate.edu