Skip to Content

Regents' Teacher

The Board of Regents of the Texas State University System annually recognizes exceptional teachers from TSUS member institutions with the Regents' Teacher Award. Regents' Teachers are selected based on their outstanding performance as educators, contributions to the development of courses, and use of innovative teaching methods, among other criteria. In addition to a commemorative medallion and board resolution, winners receive a $5,000 cash award and maintain the title of Regents' Teacher for the duration of their service within TSUS.

Regents' Teacher Discipline Institution Year Awarded
C. Renee James, Ph.D. Physics Sam Houston State University 2021
Ting Liu, Ph.D. Health and Human Performance Texas State University 2021
Ann Burnette, Ph.D. Communication Studies Texas State University 2020
Celeste Domsch, Ph.D. Communication Disorders Texas State University 2020
Rachel Romero, Ph.D. Sociology Texas State University 2020
Cynthia I. Gonzales, Ph.D. Music Texas State University 2019
Matt McClure, Ph.D. Biology Lamar State College Orange 2019
Mayumi Moriuchi, Ph.D. Modern Languages Texas State University 2019
William A. Jasper, Ph.D. Mathematics Sam Houston State University 2018
Grace Megnet, MFA Art Lamar State College Port Arthur 2018
Debra Feakes, Ph.D. Chemistry Texas State University 2017
David Nolan, Ph.D. Journalism Texas State University 2017
Fernando Quiz, Ph.D. Education Sul Ross State University 2016
Andrew Preslar English Lamar State College Orange 2015